Cherokee County, AL

Map of Alabama highlighting Cherokee County.
Map of Alabama highlighting Cherokee County. Source: Wikipeida

Cherokee County was created by the Alabama legislature on January 9, 1836. It was named for the Cherokee Indians, who ceded the land that now comprises the county to the Federal government by the treaty of New Echota, December 29, 1835.

Cherokee County is located in the northeastern portion of the state, in the Appalachian Mountains. DeKalb County borders it on the north on the west by Etowah County, on the south by Calhoun and Cleburne, and the east by Chattooga and Floyd Counties, Georgia.

Towns & Communities

For the first ten years, the residents of Cherokee County quarreled over the location of a county seat. In 1837, the Alabama legislature authorized the seat of county government to be established at Cedar Bluff. In 1844 an election was held and the county seat was moved to the town of Centre.

~ Source: Ancestor Swap Meet 2003 book, June 21, 2003, Northeast Alabama Genealogical Society.

Other towns and communities include Centre (County seat), Cedar Bluff, Collinsville (partly in DeKalb County), Forney, Gaylesville, Jamestown, Leesburg, Piedmont (partly in Calhoun County), Rock Run & Sand Rock. * Updated 2/13/2016 *

Research Links for Genealogy Search in Cherokee County, Alabama [All links will open in a new tab or window of your browser.]


  • Cherokee County Bible Records – These “… were extracted from microfilm on file in the LDS Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah.  Some … were transcribed from the actual images of Bible pages, but [some are from] … rolls of microfilm [which has] … many handwritten transcriptions of Bibles of Cherokee County, AL.”




Last updated: Saturday, February 13, 2016  21:57 PM

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: