Calhoun County, AL

Map of Alabama highlighting Calhoun County.
Map of Alabama highlighting Calhoun County. Source:

Calhoun County was created on December 18, 1832 from ceded Creek Indian Territory. It was originally named Benton County in honor of Thomas Hart Benton. The county seat was established in Jacksonville in 1833. On January 29,  1858 the name was changed to Calhoun County in honor of John C. Calhoun of South Carolina. The county seat was moved to Anniston in 1899.

Calhoun County is located in the northeastern section of the state in the Appalachian Mountain chain. The Coosa River flows along the western boundary of the county.

Notable towns include Anniston, Jacksonville, Piedmont, and Oxford.

~ Source: Ancestor Swap Meet 2003 book, June 21, 2003, Northeast Alabama Genealogical Society.

Research Links for Genealogy Search in Calhoun County, Alabama [All links will open in a new tab or window of your browser.]


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Comments 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: